Renee Manfredi Sargent Shriver International Global Messenger Blog #1: Top 10 Hits from World Games!

Special Olympics North America
7 min readApr 26, 2019

Aloha, my name is Renee Manfredi & I am a Sargent Shriver International Global Messenger (SSIGM) from Hawaii. I’d like to welcome you to my blog. E’ komo mai: that means “Welcome” in Hawaiian.

I recently had the honor to attend the Special Olympics World Games Abu Dhabi 2019 in the United Arab Emirates. When I was first told I was going to Abu Dhabi, I was SO excited because I used to live in the Middle East. I lived in the Kingdom of Bahrain for 5 years. I had been wanting to return to the area for years. For me, this was a dream come true in more ways than one way. It was wonderful to teach my fellow SSIGMs a few Arabic phrases & about the culture. Everywhere we went during World Games, they used the phrases I taught them. What an amazing experience this was for everyone who attended!

In thinking about what to share about my experiences and all the special activities I witnessed, I thought about making a list. I am calling it: Renee’s Top 10 Hits from World Games. I will begin with 10 & go to my number 1. Let the Countdown begin!

#10: One of the most special events I participated in was the Family Night Reception. The reason this was so special to me was this was the first time I was on stage with my mum. We shared about how Special Olympics has changed our lives. It was a very special moment for the both of us. To top it off, I was able to perform “This is Me” from the movie The Greatest Showman. This is my favorite song. What an evening!

#9: Then there was the Unified Sports Experience. I was so excited to participate in the Unified Sports Experience for bowling with some of my fellow SSIGMs. It was a lot of fun. I even won a medal! Demonstrating what inclusive sports are and showing how Special Olympics athletes are no different than anyone else, well, that was the best part about the event.

#8: It was super exciting to be interviewed by Brandon with Humans of New York. This may be my favorite interview. He really touched me by his interest in my life. I was impressed he wanted not just happy thoughts but sad ones, too. When I finally got to see the post on Facebook, I cried. He captured that time in my life, before Special Olympics, where I was very alone. Thank you, Brandon.

#7: I had the opportunity to meet Olympic athletes who support and sponsor Special Olympics. Ibtihaj Muhammad, Apolo Ohno, Michelle Kwan, & Donna de Varona. It was so cool to be able to chat with them about sports and the positive impact that sports has had on each one of us. I found it interesting that we all had the same things to share. We have all gained confidence from being part of a team and we all believe in giving back to our communities. I thought “Wow! What an inclusive moment I am having!”

#6: The Coca-Cola luncheon was really wonderful. I had the opportunity to meet the Chairman of Coca-Cola Muhtar Kent and thank him and his company for being our number one sponsor. I was able to meet so many other people from other countries & share how important Special Olympics has been in my life. I even was able to sing for the crowd. I believe these receptions are extremely important. If our sponsors can see how their sponsorship is really changing lives, it will inspire them to continue their support.

#5: I had the opportunity to meet people I will never forget. They have both inspired me. The first is Loretta Claiborne, Special Olympics athlete and Chief Inspiration Officer for Special Olympics Inc. She has inspired me and millions of others with her story & her speeches. I can only hope I can be as inspirational as her one day. The second was Nicole Scherzinger. She is a very famous singer & was the voice of Moana’s mum in the Disney film Moana. This was also super exciting for me because I had the honor of singing “How Far I’ll Go” for her.

#4: One of the most important events that took place during World Games was the Global Inclusive Health Forum, where I was one of the emcees with my fellow SSIGM Nyasha Derera. This forum was attended by multiple representatives from world health organizations to raise awareness of the alarming health concerns that persons with intellectual disabilities (ID) face. This was followed up the next day by a Health Workers Training where more ideas and strategies were discussed to address inclusive health. I am very hopeful about this event and the challenge of 10,000 health workers globally being trained to help persons with ID in the struggle to gain inclusive health.

#3: I thought the Opening & Closing Ceremonies were spectacular. In the Opening Ceremony, seeing all the countries represented, some wearing their traditional wear was just amazing. It was also very exciting when our own countries came out & we were able to cheer for them & even have our photos taken with them. I loved how athletes were included in every aspect of the ceremonies. This is what inclusion is all about. I did not think it could get better than Opening Ceremony, but the Closing Ceremony proved me wrong. Not only did Avril Lavigne, Luis Fonsi, Tamer Hosny, Ryan Tedder, Hussain Al Jassmi, & Assala Nasri sing the theme song for World Games “Right Where I Am Supposed To Be”, but Keala Settle sang a song that means so very much to me: “This Is Me”! From the moment I saw the movie The Greatest Showman & heard the song “This is Me”, I was pierced in my heart because it was like she was singing about me. I felt like this would be our #MeetTheDetermined song & there she was, in person, singing this song to everyone in that stadium. I cried I was so happy. And of course, I sang along.

#2: I attended a reception in honor of Eunice Kennedy Shriver, Founder of Special Olympics. It was a spectacular moment to recognize this amazing woman who began Special Olympics in her own backyard, which has grown into something beyond anyone’s expectations. It was so inspiring to see all of her family there carrying on her dream for ALL persons with ID. It was a moment I will always treasure because without Eunice Kennedy Shriver’s dream, hopes, and perseverance I would not be the person I am today. I would still be someone small, looked over, who had no voice, and did not know how to be a part of this world. Thank you SO MUCH Eunice for believing that people with ID have a place in this world & for committing your life to all the Renee’s in this world.

#1: And here we arrive at my number ONE. My very favorite part of the entire World Games was the Unity. The world coming together for one common goal: competition in sports. It was so wonderful to see. It was refreshing to see all these competitions being held in unity & breaking down barriers. All 190 countries together as one. This gives me HOPE. If this unity can happen with Special Olympics sports, then I believe that Unity is a possibility all over the world. #MeetTheDetermined

This has been the most amazing opportunity & experience that I will NEVER forget. I’m not sure where I will go from here, but I am super excited about the possibilities. I really enjoyed being with my fellow SSIGMs, representing the whole world!

I hope you enjoyed my Top 10 from World Games! Until next time, A Hui Hou as we say in Hawaii, Until We Meet Again.

--

--