My Journey To Unified Employment

Special Olympics North America
10 min readOct 28, 2020

By Daniel Smrokowski,
Sargent Shriver International Global Messenger | Special Olympics Illinois

It all began with a phone call I received in September 2019. Karen Milligan, Director of Athlete Leadership at Special Olympics Illinois, had a big opportunity for me — a groundbreaking job at United Airlines, global partner of Special Olympics! When I received that call, I wasn’t in a good place — I was struggling, overwhelmed with managing multiple opportunities and speaking requests. Additionally, I was feeling under appreciated at my [then current, now former] job at a popular thrift store. But one phone call immediately changed my unified employment journey.

After hanging up, I read over a few drafts of the United Airlines job description for the newly created “Service Ambassador.” At the time, my family and I had no way to fully realize just how groundbreaking this would be — it created not only a job, but a new career opportunity in the airline industry that those of us with intellectual disabilities rarely receive.

Less than a month later, “job interview” day arrived. I put “job interview” in quotes because we would soon learn this day was much more than an interview. As I traveled with my dad, who joined me for moral support, to O’Hare International Airport’s (ORD) United Airlines Terminal 1, I thought hundreds of Special Olympics athletes would be interviewing. It wasn’t until myself and three other Special Olympics athletes were led into the Customer Service Manager’s conference room that we learned we were selected specifically by Special Olympics Illinois staff to apply. We then were taken individually for a “get-to-know-you” job interview. United Airlines Human Resources and Customer Service Managers had one objective: to learn for themselves whether what Special Olympics staff had told them about us was true.

I have to admit; I was hesitant at first because I wasn’t sure what United was looking for in a Service Ambassador. But it turned out that everything about who I am was exactly who United was looking to hire. The fact that communication is my biggest challenge, but also my biggest passion. The fact I am [now] an employee at United Airlines and speak to strangers with comfort. My initial hesitations have turned into a career opportunity that has helped my self-confidence grow beyond my wildest dreams. Being part of the United Airlines family is a dream come true. To that, I thank the staff at Special Olympics and employees at United Airlines for believing in me — and having empathy for me.

While we waited a few weeks for background checks to be completed, I attended a Special Olympics Job Shadow Event at O’Hare International Airport. My fellow Special Olympics athletes and I shadowed Customer Service Representatives (CSR’s) as they did their job — from checking in travelers as they arrived in the lobby, to boarding passengers at the gates. CSR’s that I shadowed told me my boyish smile and love of all people is what sparked a common bond between us.

Special Olympics Service Ambassadors standing in a United Airlines terminal at O’Hare International Airport

Finally, on October 28, 2019, I had my first official day with United Airlines: a full 8-hour Orientation at O’Hare. The four of us Special Olympics Service Ambassadors received our uniform shirts, completed some paperwork on the computer, and our direct manager, Steve Suchorabski, Assistant Manager of Customer Service at ORD, took us on a whirlwind tour of the airport. If you’ve ever been to O’Hare, you know how big it is. Steve took us through United Airlines Terminal 1 from the lobby to the B and C Concourses to Terminal 2 and the E and F Concourses. Steve asked us for our preferred schedule and took us to get our official employee ID photos taken. Steve even treated us to lunch!

For my second day with United, we had a half-day orientation at United Airlines Global Corporate Headquarters, located at Willis Tower in downtown Chicago. During this corporate orientation, the awesomely talented Mel Speaker Bartlett led the on-boarding orientation for us, our parents, and a couple staff of from Special Olympics and CSR’s (our mentors) at United Airlines. A few Executive Vice Presidents and BRIDGE Business Resource Group employees spoke to us about what it means to join the United Airlines family. The speakers also talked to us about the impact that we will be making during our United Journey. A journey that is unlike other employees. Our journey to unified employment had taken off.

One week later, the “Original UA4” Service Ambassadors, as we are affectionately called, took a one day-one night trip to Houston, Texas. Each accompanied by one of our parents, a CSR agent, and an HQ employee, we attended United Airlines Employee Plane Pull, a first for me! For those of you unfamiliar with this event — let me briefly explain. The Plane Pull event is an annual fundraising event between the Law Enforcement Torch Run and United Airlines. Teams compete against each other, pulling a huge airplane. During the Opening Ceremony of the Plane Pull, we arrived at the event on board the Special Olympics 50th Anniversary branded United Airlines plane after taxiing from one part of the Houston Airport to the huge hangar where the event took place. But that wasn’t the best part of the day. The highlight for me was when I stood on the huge stage. Behind me were military veterans, a United Airlines Executive Vice President, and of course, my fellow Special Olympics Service Ambassadors. I gave a two-minute speech to over 600 United Airlines employees. Employees from all across the globe, and everyone was engaged during my speech. As I paused for “speaking effect,” the employees applauded and cheered multiple times during my speech. Click Here to Watch my speech at United Airlines 2019 Employee Plane Pull, Recorded LIVE from Houston, Texas.

Speaking in front of 600 United Airlines employees at a Plane Pull event

Two days after returning from Houston, I took part in a new training program United Airlines created just for the “Original UA4” Service Ambassadors. A highlight from that day was seeing the new Star Wars United Airlines airplane when it arrived at ORD. One of the CSR’s that I was working with took me down on the tarmac to see it up close and personal. Even though I am not a huge Star Wars fan — I know that may be surprising — it was still an amazing opportunity during my first few official work weeks.

Listen to my journey, coming to United Airlines. In a one-hour conversation with United Customer Service Representative Angela Franklin on part 1 of the Unified at Work podcast original series, I talk about the joys and challenges of starting a new job in a new industry and the inclusive employment program I was searching to find. Tune-in on specialchronicles.com/podcast361

One of the amazing Customer Service Leadership team members I’ve had the honor of getting to know as a colleague is Jonna McGrath. Jonna is the Managing Director of Customer Service at ORD. Since the early days of our Special Olympics Service Ambassador (SOSA) program, Jonna has been a huge supporter of myself and my fellow teammates. Earlier this month, I sat down with Jonna for a fun and informative conversation about the backstory of how this unified employment program began — from her perspective.

“You all have different talents, and you all bring different things to the job, but you all are so positive and motivated,” said Jonna, who continued her remarks about my fellow SOSA co-workers and I bring to the United team that we “serve as an inspiration to all of us, every day, to say there is so much you can do. You just have to try and we have to work through the obstacles that are in our way, but nothing is impossible for us. We got you on board as a member of the United family.”

My United Airlines colleagues and I pose for a picture.

In working in the lobby of Terminal 1 at Chicago O’Hare International Airport, my job responsibilities include: assisting customers with directions, assisting fellow employees at the gates, tagging luggage, and providing customer service support. I’m grateful to be part of the United family and to show that with a positive and motivational work attitude, I can be a good employee. I would like to personally give a big thank you to United Airlines for seeing the ability in me and not putting the label of “disability” on me.

Since the beginning of the unified employment part of this global partnership, our direct manager Steve Suchorabski, has been a supporter of the “Original UA4” Service Ambassadors. In the same episode as Jonna, I also sat down with Steve to talk about the impact that we as Service Ambassadors make on the United family and our United customers.

Walking with United Airlines CEO Scott Kirby through O’Hare International Airport

“I see every day how our Service Ambassadors connect with our customers the moment they walk into the airport lobby,” said Steve. “They provide a warm, welcoming smile and assist in any way that can. To see these young adults host positions that a society once told them they couldn’t is truly the most heartwarming part of my job,” Steve continued.

Listen or watch my complete conversation with Jonna and Steve on part 7 of the Unified at Work podcast original series on specialchronicles.com/podcast393

I’m honored to hold the position of Service Ambassador. The opportunity to be part of the United family means everything to me. I feel so much pride showing up to work in a Special Olympics/United co-branded uniform, working among such a loving and supportive community. The relationship between these two organizations is truly helping to shape my future while letting me use my gifts of communicating and helping others. Hopefully, I can spend my entire career at United.

The Star Wars United Airlines plane was really impressive!

“The inclusive employment program is what community partnerships, like ours with Special Olympics, are all about: collaborating to identify areas where the needs of the community intersect with the cultural and business opportunity, then creating the infrastructure and programming to bring the two together,” said United’s Global Community Engagement Managing Director Suzi Cabo. “Through this program, our goal is to show other companies that when you put a committed effort and focus towards inclusion and breaking down barriers, you transform lives. I challenge other businesses around the world to follow our lead in joining the Inclusion Revolution.”

Listen or watch my complete conversation with Suzi Cabo on Part 8 of the Unified at Work podcast original series on specialchronicles.com/podcast394

I’m proud to be part of the Inclusion Revolution. And I’m excited that United is joining us at Special Olympics as a leader in the Inclusion Revolution. United is showing other companies that creating an inclusive employment program is a good business decision. I hope that other companies and businesses around the world will join us in creating similar programs. The moment you join our Inclusion Revolution campaign and create inclusive employment programs, you will join our fight for creating an inclusive world.

“The Inclusion Revolution campaign, led by our athletes, aims to end discrimination against people with intellectual disabilities. United Airlines has joined in our fight for inclusion, empowering our athletes with the skills needed to succeed and opportunities to contribute their abilities as leaders,” said Special Olympics International Chairman Tim Shriver. “United Airlines believes that people with intellectual disabilities should be perceived as they really are: independent, world-class athletes, students, employees, neighbors, travelers, and leaders who contribute to make this world a better place.”

My colleagues and I show our appreciation to United Airlines CEO Scott Kirby for the inclusive employment program.

Recently, Tim retweeted a photo United Airlines tweeted of the “Original UA4” Service Ambassadors standing with CEO Scott Kirby in front of the huge billboard AD we are featured on. Tim applauded United for taking inclusion to new heights.

@TimShriver tweeted: “Bravo to @united for taking inclusion to new heights. We’re flooded with news about division & anger. We often miss the news of uniters, healers & pioneers of inclusivity & change. Maybe it’s time to switch your news feed from the dividers & the hate to the uniters & the great!”

Earlier this year, I created Unified at Work, a podcast original series that is co-produced by Special Chronicles Network and United Airlines. This month of October, I broadcasted the final six episodes LIVE from United’s Polaris Lounge and on location at O’Hare International Airport in Chicago. I produced this podcast series to host extraordinary conversations about unified employment taking off at United Airlines. This series is based on the global partnership between Special Olympics and United Airlines. Listeners tune-in to hear behind the scenes stories and exclusive audio documentaries from the global headquarters of The Friendly Skies! Listen to the complete Season 1 of the Unified at Work podcast series for free and on-demand — that’s 10 full episodes that are available everywhere podcasts are heard. Visit specialchronicles.com/unifiedatwork to listen and subscribe to the Unified at Work show on ApplePodcasts, Spotify, iHeartRadio, and podcast apps everywhere.

Join us as leaders in unified employment. I hope you join United Airlines in taking inclusion to new heights. Let’s celebrate the abilities, gifts, and talents of people with intellectual disabilities, like myself, in bringing inclusion to work.

Click Here to watch a video and hear from myself and my fellow Special Olympics Service Ambassadors firsthand: https://youtu.be/PjHIScE7R7Y

--

--